Skip to main content

Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Steering Committee Invites New Voices to Working Groups

Published: 01/13/2023

You are welcome here.

You are welcome here.

Welcome back, Knights! We are glad to have each and every one of you here with us for the start of another exciting new semester.  

As we look forward to this spring semester, we would like to take a moment to again extend a welcoming invitation to anyone interested in joining the work of the Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Steering Committee and its working groups. This committee fosters discussion in the university community regarding issues of justice, equity, diversity and inclusion at Gannon, identifies areas of need, and creates an institutional action plan for the university to move forward. The working groups include: 

Campus Climate and Assessment: developing and deploying campus climate survey(s) around areas of inclusion and experiences of bias. Interested? Contact Dr. Lori Lindley at lindley001@gannon.edu.  

Communications and Marketing: developing processes for maintaining Gannon’s DEI web presence, communications, social media and updates, as well as collaborating to develop plans for in-person outreach, forums, listening sessions, etc. Interested? Please contact Nicole Lossie at lossie005@gannon.edu.  

Professional Development: collect, review and discern options for professional development for employees across campuses, including resources and digital trainings. Interested? Contact Jana Sossong at sossong001@gannon.edu.  

Gender Identity and Language: develop plans for inclusion and support of diverse gender identities and expressions on our campuses. Interested? Contact Dr. Megan Woller at woller001@gannon.edu.  

Student Recruitment and Retention: collaborating with campus groups to develop plans for student recruitment and retention. Interested? Contact Desi Herter on the Ruskin Campus at herter001@gannon.edu, or Dennis Williams on the Erie Campus at williams186@gannon.edu.  

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Resource Hub: collaborating to provide the campus community with resources for self-awareness building and reflection. Interested? Contact Dr. Mary McDermott at mcdermot008@gannon.edu.  

We look forward to continuing this important work together. All voices are welcome, as we continue cultivating a welcoming environment rooted in inclusion, dignity, and belonging for all.  

In Solidarity,

Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Steering Committee Chairs
Gerald J. James & Dr. Lori Lindley

All media inquiries can be made by contacting Doug Oathout, Chief of Staff and Director of Marketing and Communications, at 814-871-7470 or oathout002@gannon.edu.