Call 1-800-GANNON-U
Skip to main content

Model UN

  •  Model UN

    What is MUN

    Founded to promote an understanding of the complex problems of international affairs as well as the purposes and functions of the United Nations, the Gannon Model U.N. will draw together some 500 students representing approximately 40 high schools in the tri-state area. For those who have never participated in such a conference, the Model U.N. offers a challenging education in the dealings among nations.

    In the spring or early fall, delegations are assigned country designations and encouraged to begin to study the issues which will be under consideration at the forthcoming assembly. As much as possible, the students are to learn the viewpoint of the government they are assigned to represent, and are to attempt to speak and vote according to the interests of that country.

    During the fall the member delegations meet in regional blocs, corresponding to geographic and ideological groupings within the United Nations itself, to begin to debate the issues and to formulate strategies for the General Assembly. Gannon advisors may attend these block meetings to assist their organization.

    About Us

    Father Joseph J. Barr, Ph. D., then chairman of Gannon College's political science department, founded the Model United Nations. The International Relations Club originated the concept of Model United Nations at what was then known as Gannon College. Eleven high schools in the Erie area participated in the event. In March of 1954, the IRC held the first Model United Nations conference for high school students in the Erie area. Since then the conference grew to include more than 800 students from 50 high schools in the tri-state area and Canada. Having been founded in 1954, it is believed that our conference is the second oldest in the nation, after Berkeley. But we are the oldest, consecutively run conference in the world!

    Father Barr believed that the U.N. could bring us closer to world unity if every person has faith. For Father Barr, the Model United Nations had two purposes. First, the Model U.N. should give students the opportunity to learn more about world problems, and in particular, to see the different viewpoints and positions which are at work in the United Nations. Second, it should provide experience in organization, leadership, and debate as well as bring together college and high school students to work as a team.

    As participation increased, the Model assembly was divided into regional blocs beginning in 1958. In 1967, a model Security Council was added to the conference. In 1995, a model Economic and Social Council was added. Also, as the attendance grew, the agenda was expanded to include more topics of worldwide interest.

    Father Barr stepped down as General Moderator in 1968. He left his project in the hands of Dr. James Brasfield, who moderated in the 16th and 17th sessions. In 1969, Dr. Gregor Reinhard took over the responsibility of General Moderator for Gannon's Model United Nations. Dr. Reinhard served as the General Moderator until 1996 when he was appointed Dean of the College of Humanities, Business, and Education. Mr. Paul Foust was named to replace Dr. Reinhard for the 45th annual Gannon Model United Nations. Dr. Anjali Sahay, associate professor of Gannon's political science program, is currently serving as General Moderator.

    Past Model United Nations Secretaries-General 

    • 1954       Mr. Jude Shanahan
    • 1955       Mr. John Noble
    • 1956       Mr. Richard Bliley
    • 1957       Mr. Jerome M. Pelkowski
    • 1958       Mr. Ralph F. Husband
    • 1959       Mr. Bernard Kolasa, Ph.D.
    • 1960       Mr. Gordon Kennedy
    • 1961       Mr. Clifford P. Kirsch, Ph.D.
    • 1962       Mr. Clifford P. Kirsch, Ph.D.
    • 1963       Mr. Robert Donegan
    • 1964       Mr. Edward Miller
    • 1965       Mr. David Kozak, Ph.D.
    • 1966       Mr. Ernest J. Romito
    • 1967       Mr. Kenneth Susmarski
    • 1968       Atty. James A. Lewis
    • 1969       Atty. Andrew Meko
    • 1970       Atty. John D. Gibson
    • 1971       Ms. Valli A. Ruggerio (Kempf),
    • 1972       Rev. Stephen E. Krivonak III
    • 1973       Mr. Stephen R. Smith
    • 1974       Mr. Charles M. Taft, Jr.
    • 1975       Atty. Deborah A. Dubik
    • 1976       Mr. R. D. Hockensmith, M.A.
    • 1977       Ms. Therese Neidenberger
                        (Maskulka), Ph.D.
    • 1978       Mr. John A. Wells, M.P.A.
    • 1979       Atty. Diane E. Adkins
    • 1980       Atty. Kenneth Zielonis
    • 1981       Atty. Gwendolyn M. Ralph
    • 1982       Mr. Daniel A. Shreve
    • 1983       Ms. Shelly M. Lawrence
    • 1984       Mr. Christopher J. Ehrman
    • 1985       Ms. Lisa Meeder (Turnbull), M.A.
    • 1986       Ms. Bridget Chamberlain,
    • 1987       Ms. Barbara E. Smith
    • 1988       Atty. Jennifer L. Johnston
    • 1989       Atty. Bryan Shreckengost
    • 1990       Ms. Robin E. Coffey
    • 1991       Ms. Colleen Gildea
    • 1992       Ms. Rebecca R. Long
    • 1993       Ms. Michele-Marie Iarussi
    • 1994       Mr. David Benke
    • 1995       Ms. Michelle Kuklinski
    • 1996       Mr. Aaron Blakeslee
    • 1997       Mr. Aaron Blakeslee
    • 1998       Mr. Scott Jablonski
    • 1999       Mr. Scott Jablonski
    • 2000       Ms. Christine Rogala
    • 2001       Ms. Christine Wintemute
    • 2002       Ms. Christine Wintemute
    • 2003       Ms. Brittany Weber
    • 2004       Ms. Veronica Ostrosky
    • 2005       Mr. Christopher Soult
    • 2006       Ms. Rachel A. Maloney
    • 2007       Ms. Shannon S. Snook
    • 2008       Ms. Stephanie R. Fetzner
    • 2009       Ms. Andrea C. Carnicella
    • 2010       Ms. Rebecca M. Perry
    • 2011       Ms. Jessica A. Scouten
    • 2012       Ms. Devan M. Omahen
    • 2013       Mr. Jared D. Schaaf
    • 2014       Ms. Jennifer E. Amann
    • 2015       Mr. David Cimino
    • 2016       Katherine E. Greissinger
    • 2017       Donoven Chase
    • 2018       Muhammad Alsahlani