Excellence: Faculty Awards Convocation Held

Sarah EwingPosted: April 18, 2013

Sarah J. Ewing, Ph.D. was twice honored at the Faculty Awards Convocation


"At Gannon, we're a community, and we should not only love our students—which we do—but we should also love each other."

Those words, spoken by James McGivern, Ph.D., were the emotional high point of Gannon University’s annual Faculty Awards Convocation held last Friday in the Yehl Room of the Waldron Campus Center to honor distinguished and retiring faculty.

Eight awards were given to current faculty for uncommon excellence in the past year.  They were:

Distinguished Faculty Award  

Karinna Vernaza, Ph.D.

SGA Excellence in Teaching Award  

Reverend Jason Glover

The Bishop Persico “Veritas In Caritate*” Award  

Sarah J. Ewing, Ph.D.

Undergraduate Research Award  

Sarah J. Ewing, Ph.D.

Award for Excellence in Service-Learning  

Ann Bomberger, Ph.D.

Excellence in Undergraduate Advising Awards:  

For the College of Humanities, Education, and Social Sciences 

Leighann Forbes, Ph.D.

For the College of Engineering and Business 

Anne M. O’Neill-Klemensic

For the Morosky College of Health Professions and Sciences 

Tania Flink, Ph.D.

Three other faculty members were honored for 25 years of service to Gannon:  Bernadette M. Agresti, instructor, legal studies, university ombudsman and director, pre-law program, legal studies; David C. Kozak, Ph. D., professor, political science program and director, Leadership Erie; and Cynthia L. Liotta, assistant professor, radiologic sciences program and director, radiologic sciences program.

In addition to Dr. McGivern, who joined Gannon’s biology department in 1976, two other retiring faculty members were honored for their distinguished careers:  James E. Miller, Ph.D, associate professor, accounting program and president of Faculty Senate; and Michael J. O’Neill, assistant professor, accounting program.