• Graduate students can apply what they have learned and gain practical experience as graduate assistants in a number of departments throughout the University.  Please contact the department directly to learn about assistantship availabilities, deadlines and other information.

    Graduate Assistantship Facts

    • Most graduate assistants receive a stipend and/or percentage of tuition waiver.
    • All positions are for one year, renewable for a second year by mutual agreement.
    • Graduate assistants in Residence Life receive room and board.

    Departments with Assistantships

    ATHLETIC TRAINING

    Dr. Becky Mokris
    (814) 871-7441 | mokris001@gannon.edu
    Students must pursue a degree in athletic training and be enrolled in the Master of Athletic Training program. The application deadline is March 15th and assistantships are awarded prior to the start of the program.

    CLINICAL MENTAL HEALTH COUNSELING

    Dr. Timothy Coppock
    (814) 871-5793 | coppock001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling.

    COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE

    Dr. Stephen Frezza
    (814) 871-7563 | frezza001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Computer and Information Science.

    CRIMINALISTICS

    Dr.  Julia Mack
    (814) 871-7542 | mack009@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Criminalistics. Graduate assistantship responsibilities will be completed on campus, to provide students ample opportunities to work directly with the Criminalistics faculty. The application deadline is April 1st and assistantships will be awarded prior to the start of the academic year.

    ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH AND ENGINEERING

    Dr. Michelle Homan
    (814) 871-5691 | homan001@gannon.edu 
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Environmental Health and Engineering.

    MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

    Dr. Mahesh Aggarwal
    (814) 871-7629 | aggarwal001@gannon.edu
    Faculty in the department are conducting research in both fields of mechanical engineering.  When applying, please indicate whether you are interested in mechanical systems or thermal systems.

    ORGANIZATIONAL LEARNING AND LEADERSHIP

    Dr. William Hallock
    (814) 871-7136 | hallock002@gannon.edu 

    PHYSICAL THERAPY (ERIE Campus)

    Dr. Kristine Legters
    (814) 871-5641 | legters001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a Doctor of Physical Therapy degree. Positions include Athletic Trainers and  Anatomy Laboratory Assistants. Two Program Development positions are available to second-year DPT students only.
    Assistantship Deadline: December 1

    PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION

    Dr. Mengzhong Zhang
    (814) 871-5729 | zhang038@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Public Administration.

    RESIDENCE LIFE

    Denise Golden
    (814) 871-7564 | golden007@gannon.edu
    If interested in being a graduate assistant for the Residence Life team, inquire about potential openings February/March of the spring semester. Preference is given to students who have previous residence life experience. Number of available positions vary per year. 

    SCHOOL OF BUSINESS

    Robin Mascharka
    (814) 871-7567 | maschark003@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Business Administration

    SMALL BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT CENTER (SBDC)

    Margaret Horne
    (814) 871-7713 | horne001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Business Administration

    SPORT AND EXERCISE SCIENCE

    Dr. Kory Stauffer
    (814) 871-7515 | stauffer005@gannon.edu
    Students must pursue a  degree in Sport & Exercise Science and be enrolled in the Master of Sport & Exercise Science program. The application deadline is April 1st and assistantships are awarded prior to the start of the program.


Gannon University Institute for Health and Cyber Knowledge (I-HACK)

Gannon University announces the launch of the Institute for Health and Cyber Knowledge (I-HACK).