Graduate Assistantships

  • Full-time students can apply what they have learned and gain practical experience as graduate assistants in a number of departments throughout the University.  Please contact the department directly to learn about assistantship availabilities, deadlines and other information. 

    Graduate Assistantship Facts

    • Most graduate assistants receive a stipend and/or percentage of tuition waiver.
    • All positions are for one year, renewable for a second year by mutual agreement.
    • Graduate assistants in Residence Life receive room and board.
    • The positions in the English Department are teaching assistantships and require teaching of College Composition and working in the Writing Center.

    Departments with Assistantships

    ATHLETIC TRAINING

    Dr. Becky Mokris
    (814) 871-7441 | mokris001@gannon.edu
    Students must pursue a degree in athletic training and be enrolled in the Master of Athletic Training program. Assistantships are awarded prior to the start of the program.

    CLINICAL MENTAL HEALTH COUNSELING

    Dr. Timothy Coppock
    (814) 871-5793 | coppock001@gannon.edu
    Preference is given to Clinical Mental Health Counseling students for our Graduate assistantship position.

    CRIMINALISTICS

    Dr. Jerry Clark
    (814) 871-7121 | clark120@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Criminalistics.

    COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE

    Dr. Barry Brinkman
    (814) 871-7443 | brinkman001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Computer and Information Science.

    ENGLISH

    Dr. Laura Rutland
    (814) 871-7532 | rutland001@gannon.edu
    Students must have a Bachelor’s degree in English or at least 24 undergraduate credits in English and be pursuing a degree in English.

    ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH AND ENGINEERING

    Dr. Michelle Homan
    (814) 871-5691 | homan001@gannon.edu 
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Environmental Health and Engineering.

    Health Communication

    Dr. Jennifer Allen Catellier
    (814) 871-5626 | allenca001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a Master of Arts degree in Health Communication.
    Fall Assistantship Deadline: March 15
    Spring Assistantship Deadline: November 15

    Institutional Research and Assessment

    Dr. Dana Bagwell | bagwell002@gannon.edu
    Preference will be given to students who have one or more of the following attributes: working knowledge of Microsoft Excel, attention to detail, strong organization and communication skills, database experience, and/or knowledge of computer programming (e.g., VBA, Python, Java, R, etc.).

    OFFICE OF THE DEAN OF HUMANITIES, EDUCATION AND SOCIAL SCIENCE

    Bobbi Jo Fye
    (814) 871-7549 | fye001@gannon.edu  

    ORGANIZATIONAL LEARNING AND LEADERSHIP

    Dr. William Hallock
    (814) 871-7136 | hallock002@gannon.edu 

    PHYSICAL THERAPY (ERIE Campus)

    Dr. Kristine Legters
    (814) 871-5641 | legters001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a Doctor of Physical Therapy degree. Positions include Athletic Trainers, Anatomy Laboratory Assistants and Motion Analysis Laboratory Assistants. Two Program Development positions are available to second-year DPT students only.
    Assistantship Deadline: January 15

    RESIDENCE LIFE

    Denise Golden
    (814) 871-7564 | golden007@gannon.edu
    If interested in being a graduate assistant for the Residence Life team, inquire about potential openings February/March of the spring semester. Preference is given to students who have previous residence life experience. Number of available positions vary per year. 

    SCHOOL OF BUSINESS

    Robin Mascharka
    (814) 871-7567 | maschark003@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Business Administration

    SMALL BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT CENTER (SBDC)

    Margaret Horne
    (814) 871-7713 | horne001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Business Administration

    SPORT & EXERCISE SCIENCE

    Dr. Kory Stauffer
    (814) 871-7515 | stauffer005@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Sport and Exercise Science.
    Download an application